English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : August 1998

The Amateur Billiard Player : August 1998



10th May 1998

A disappointing turn out of only 11 players competed in this
final event sponsored by Tim Godolphin of Claro
Engineering Ltd of Harrogate who provided a substantial annual
trophy and replicas for the finalists.

Jimmy Chambers (Ely) and Dean Bavister (Rushden) joined
nine Teessiders in the line up.

Dean was a preliminary casualty to David Butler despite a 44
break. John Hartley had a 41 break when swamping Mark Coates
and Darren Clark beat his regular practice partner Anthony

Jimmy (40) beat David and John beat Darren in the first round
proper, and were joined by Robin Wilson and Michael Price.
Robin made the day’s best score of 362.

Jimmy beat Michael in his semi final while John and Robin
were involved in a great match. Robin with breaks of 40 & 51
overcame John, whose 53 was the best break of the day, by a
margin of only 4 points.

The final, aptly played by the leading pair in the ranking list,
saw Jimmy with a 60 point lead for a large portion of the game.
Only in the last 10 minutes did Robin draw level and a cat ‘n
mouse game followed until Robin took a decisive late lead after
a 27 break in the closing minute to seal victory.

Tony King took the Plate winners prize from Lee McKenna by
a 26 point margin.


Matthew Sutton (Kettering) suffered injuries when being
somersaulted over his mountain bike handlebars after a
roadside accident. His injuries, though thankfully not serious,
prevented him from competing in the final event of the series
and saw him overtaken by three other players in his quest for
England Junior International status and was eventually listed
at 9th.

After the opening round of the last event it was confirmed that
the top three ranked players Robin Wilson, Jimmy Chambers
and Dean Bavister could not be ousted from their standings.

John Hartley moved up to 4th and Darren Clark 5th while
absentees Chris Brunskill dropped to 6th and Fraser Adams
dropped to 7th while Lee McKenna moved up to 8th.

Overall 44 players were involved in the 5 events played with
30 of them being Teessiders. Fakenham, Lincoln, Raunds,
Thornaby and Harrogate were the venues used.

The top four players are expected to form part of a future
international squad in conjunction with the ABC international


26th April 1998

Only 12 competitors took part in the Raunds event,
including four Teessiders who travelled over 230 miles
to compete. Robin Wilson set the scoring standard with five
breaks around 40 to make 495 in the 1 hour game.

Robin made the day’s highest break in a win over Matthew
Sutton who made a 51 in defeat. Dean Bavister was in free
scoring mood over Peter Gamblin, while John Hartley defeated
Lincoln event finalist Matthew Lee.

John fell at the semi final stage to Dean while Robin beat
Jimmy Chambers in a high scoring affair.

The winners prize and ranking list top-spot went to Robin
after his win over Dean.
Matt Lee took the Plate when beating Michael Price in the

Main Competition
Preliminary Round
R. Wilson

Matthew Sutton

67, 31
292 Darren Clark


30 J. Chambers

Fraser Adams

221 Wayne Bean

Quarter finals
Robin Wilson

70, 50, 37
340 Matthew Sutton

Fraser Adams

428 Jimmy Chambers

40, 30
Dean Bavister

John Hartley

301 Matthew Lee

Semi finals
Robin Wilson

404 Jimmy Chambers

Dean Bavister

196 John Hartley

Robin Wilson

49, 40
279 Dean Bavister

Plate Competition
Preliminary Round
Michael Price

225 Peter Gamblin

Wayne Bean

200 Ashley Burton

Semi finals
Michael Price

287 Wayne Bean

Matthew Lee

253 Darren Clark

Matthew Lee

251 Michael Price


Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.