English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : November 1998

The Amateur Billiard Player : November 1998


New South Wales, Australia (14th-19th September 1998)

The “Golden Cue” tournament which was won
last year by Peter Gilchrist was staged as part
of the Walter Lindrum Centenary Celebrations in
Australia, and consequently renamed the “Lindrum
Masters”. Playing to a slightly different format on
this occasion, each match consisted of games from
Billiards, Snooker, Eight-ball Pool, and Nine-ball

Four invited representatives from each discipline
played off in groups to determine which of them
would make up the semi-final. Billiards and
Snooker events were decided by the first player to
100 points, and each pool discipline was the first
to four games, with each game worth 25 points to

the winner. Matches were decided on the total
aggregate points.

The decision to play the snooker over aggregate
score rather than frames, raised a few eyebrows,
especially as this would involve the match finishing
mid-way through a frame. When Snooker was first
played over 100 years ago, aggregate score was
always the method used to determine the winner of
an extended match. In fact, deciding matches on
the basis of frames won was only introduced to
Championship matches in 1927. However, this
seems to be the first time that a fixed number of
points has been applied to a major championship

Group A

Group A contained all of the billiard players, who were Mike Russell,
Peter Gilchrist, Geet Sethi and Robby Foldvari.

P. Gilchrist (England)
350 R. Foldvari (Australia)
G. Sethi (India)
367 M. Russell (England)
G. Sethi (India)
400 R. Foldvari (Australia)
P. Gilchrist (England)
400 M. Russell (England)
G. Sethi (India)
400 P. Gilchrist (England)
R. Foldvari (Australia)
400 M. Russell (England)

Geet Sethi established an early lead in the group with an opening victory
over Mike Russell. This was sustained when he took maximum points
against Foldvari, recording an impressive 400-178 aggregate win over
the four disciplines. With Gilchrist also taking maximum points against
Russell, his final group match against Sethi would decided which of
them would progress to the semi-finals. In the event, it was Sethi who
proved the stronger, winning all sections in a comfortable victory.

Group B

Group B were the snooker players, with Jimmy White and Willie Thorne
representing England, Dene O’Kane for New Zealand, and Cliff
Thorburn for Canada.

D. O’Kane (New Zealand)
350 Cliff Thorburn (Canada)
J. White (England)
350 Willie Thorne (England)
D. O’Kane (New Zealand)
375 Willie Thorne (England)
J. White (England)
342 Cliff Thorburn (Canada)
J. White (England)
354 D. O’Kane (New Zealand)
Willie Thorne (England)
358 Cliff Thorburn (Canada)

Jimmy White made a fine start to the competition by taking three of
the four disciplines to put him on top of Group B after the opening day,
alongside Dene O’Kane who was on the same number of points.
However, going into the final tie against the New Zealander, White
had been overtaken by 33 points on aggregate score by O’Kane. Starting
with this disadvantage, White proceeded to lose the billiards game,
but then recovered well to win all the remaining disciplines, and the
Group, setting up a meeting with Geet Sethi


Group C

Somehow, veteran snooker player Eddie Charlton managed to be
selected as an eight-ball representative in Group C. Now in his 68th
year, “Steady Eddie” was opposed in this group by ladies No.1 Karen
Corr, Oliver Ortmann and Kirk Stevens.

O. Ortmann (Germany)
298 K. Stevens (Canada)
K. Corr (NI)
400 E. Charlton (Australia)
K. Stevens (Canada)
325 K. Corr (NI)
O. Ortmann (Germany)
384 E. Charlton (Australia)
K. Stevens (Canada)
302 E. Charlton (Australia)
O. Ortmann (Germany)
400 K. Corr (NI)

Karen Corr, who was the only woman competing in the Masters, started
well by taking maximum points against Eddie Charlton, winning all
four sections. She next went on to win both the pool events against
Kirk Stevens, but heavy losses in both the snooker and billiards sections
gave the 40 year-old Canadian the match. Even so, she stood just 12
points behind Ortmann going into the deciding match against him.
However, Ortmann proved too strong and defeated Corr in all sections
to win the group, having previously disposed of Stevens and Charlton.

Group D

The nine-ball group featured Australian Quinten Hann, Mike Massey
from the USA, Tiawanese Fong Pang Chao and New Zealand’s Stan

Q. Hann (Australia)
400 F. Pang-Chao (Tiawan)
M. Massey (USA)
400 S. Maffey (NZ)
F. Pang-Chao (Taiwan)
262 S. Maffey (NZ)
Q. Hann (Australia)
325 M. Massey (USA)
Q. Hann (Australia)
375 S. Maffey (NZ)
M. Massey (USA)
266 F. Pang-Chao (Tiawan)

Local favourite Quinten Hann and Mike Massey both collected
maximum points from their opening matches to head Group D after
the first day. The decisive match between them came on the second
day when 21 year-old Hann from Melbourne, beat the American trick-
shot specialist in three of the four disciplines. Hann followed this with
a comfortable win over Stan Maffey to book his semi-final place against
Oliver Ortmann.

Q. Hann (Australia)
375 O. Ortmann (Germany)
J. White (England)
277 G. Sethi (India)

In the semi-finals, Quinten Hann easily overcame the challenge of Oliver
Ortmann, but Sethi put up a great fight before going down to Jimmy
White by just two points.

Q. Hann (Australia)
350 J. White (England)

White scored just 12 points in the 100 up leg of billiards as Hann made
breaks of 51 and 51 unfinished to put him in a commanding position,
and after adding the snooker section 100-68 it always looked to be an
uphill battle for the “Whirlwind”. Hann secured his victory by winning
the eight-ball pool, four games to one, although White had the
consolation of defeating Hann 4-2 in his “specialist” section of nine-

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.