English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : February 1999

The Amateur Billiard Player : February 1999



The four surviving counties from the qualifying rounds gathered at
the Pocket Snooker Centre in Kidderminster on Sunday 3rd January
1999, to decide the title of English County Champion and the
distribution of the £500 prize fund.

Pre-match favourites, Cleveland “A”, suffered an early setback as David
White established a 115 point advantage for Cornwall in defeating
Darren Kell. However, after this the Cleveland side had things entirely
their own way, as first Lee Lagan then Paul Bennett put together a
string of big breaks to cruise through to the final.

Norfolk´s Phil Welham set his side off to a winning start, including a
59 break in his 61 point victory over Tony Keeling. Fos Wilson then
increased this advantage to 202 as his opponent, Ernie Houghton,
struggled to find his form. This left Peter Shelley with too much to do
for Staffs/West Midlands, and although he won his match against David
Nichols, the Norfolk team went through with an aggregate win of 119

Cleveland A  Cornwall A
Darren Kell 179 David White (72) 294
Lee Lagan (99 94 64 61) 448 Keith Olver 168
Paul Bennett (101 66 59) 407 Charlie Gay 174
 1,034  636
Norfolk  Staffs/West Midlands
Phil Welham (59) 241Tony Keeling 180
Fos Wilson 232 Ernie Houghton 91
David Nichols 207 Peter Shelley 290
  680  561

Phil Welham, with a string of early breaks, establish an early lead of
almost 200 points against Paul Bennett, but could not maintain the
momentum as the English Champion pulled back to within 49 points
at the close. Darren Kell also started brightly for the Cleveland side,
putting together early breaks of 89 and 60, but thereafter had difficulty
in shaking off the challenge of Fos Wilson, eventually winning by 73
points. As the last pairing came to the table the match could hardly
have been more balanced, with Cleveland holding an advantage of just
24 points. For most of the game, neither player could establish a
dominant position. Then, with just 15 minutes left on the clock, Lee
Lagan settled the matter with breaks of 103 and 91 unfinished to take
the title for the Cleveland side.

Cleveland A  Norfolk
Paul Bennett 237Phil Welham (66 48 45 47) 286
Darren Kell (89 60) 288 Fos Wilson 215
Lee Lagan (103 91 unf) 414 David Nichols 217
  937  718

Third place was secured by Cornwall “A” when they defeated Staffs/
West Midlands in a play-off. David White was particularly impressive,
running in consecutive breaks of 101 and 109 to defeat Peter Shelley
by 280 points. Tony Keeling redressed the balance for the Staffs/West
Midlands side with a 233 point victory over Keith Olver, which included
a break of 73. However, the come-back was halted at this stage as
Charlie Gay steered the Cornwall side to victory with a comfortable
win over Ernie Houghton.

EABA Chairman Peter Shelley presented the winning Cleveland side
with a cheque for £200 and Norfolk took £150 as runners up. The
superb playing conditions at the Pocket Snooker Centre brought
favourable comment from several of the competitors who hoped that
this venue may again be used for EABA competitions.

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.