English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : May 1999

The Amateur Billiard Player : May 1999


New Zealand

Inaugural Ladies Tournament

Annette Moeahu from Hawkes Bay beat Sharon Wilkie 115-91 to win what is believed to be the first Women’s Billiards tournament held in New Zealand. The tournament, held at the Hamilton Cosmopolitan Club, 130 kilometres south of Auckland, on 13th February, attracted a small field of four players. All players were initially involved in a round-robin of 45 minute matches. The winner and runner-up of this went forward to the one-hour final and the remaining two played-off for third place. Overall, the tournament was seen as a successful first attempt, and partly as a result of this, the New Zealand Women’s BSA will hold the first ever New Zealand Women’s Billiards Championship in conjunction with the Snooker Championships later this year.

North Harbour Open

Wayne Carey, number one on the New Zealand
Billiards ranking list, beat Derek Gibb, the current New Zealand
Billiards champion, to win the North Harbour Open Billiards, held at
Snooker World, Auckland, in March. This was the first ranking
tournament of the 1999 New Zealand Billiards season. Carey was more
consistent throughout the two-hour final, making breaks of 60, 59 and
60, and winning 489-309. In the semi-finals, Carey had a comfortable
win over Ray Habgood (treasurer of the NZBSA), as did Gibb over
Ron Milicich (president of the Auckland BSA). Gibb made the highest
break of the tournament with 116 unfinished in an earlier round.

At 1st January 1999 , the top New Zealand amateurs where ranked as

1. Wayne Carey – Auckland; 2. Derek Gibb – Capital City; 3.
Paul Stocker – Hawkes Bay; 4. Merv Stewart – Counties; 5. Darcy
Boyce – Waikato; 6. Ron Milicich – Auckland; 7. Gary Oliver –
Canterbury; 8. Tony Stephens – Hawkes Bay; 9. Russell Robinson –
Capital City; 10. Ray Habgood – North Harbour; 11. Joe Ifa – Waikato
12. Sid Baker – Canterbury; 13. Barry Moore – Auckland; 14. Malcolm
Cooke – Capital City; 15. John Keatley – North Harbour; 16. Colin
Taylor – Bay of Plenty; 17. Malcolm Spencer – Auckland; 18. Brian
Nelson – Hawkes Bay; 19. Ray Reid – Hawkes Bay; 20. Dave Weir –

[The ABP acknowledge the following sources of information : Philip
Sharp´s ‘Electronic Newsletter´; Ray Habgood´s ‘Billiards Letter´; ‘The
Hindu´ newspaper]

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.