English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : February 2000

The Amateur Billiard Player : February 2000



The North Harbour Open

The North Harbour Open Billiards was held on 11th-12th September
1999 at the Snooker World, Royal Oak, Auckland. Wayne Carey
comfortably beat fellow Aucklander and defending champion Merv
Stewart 525-344 to win the two-hour final.

Carey showed good form in his semi-final match against Ron Milicich,
making breaks of 99 (missing a screw in-off with the rest), 90 and 69,
finishing with an aggregate of 702 points. His 99 proved to be the
highest break of the tournament. Merv Stewart’s semi-final against
Ray Habgood was considerably closer. With about 40 minutes left,
Stewart led by over 100 points and appeared to have the match well in
hand, only for Habgood to fight back with a break of 59. But it wasn’t
enough and Stewart won by 106 points.

Carey began the final well, scoring a 77 on his second visit only for
Stewart to respond a few visits later, with a run of 62. After an hour the
scores were still close, Stewart holding a two point advantage at 206-
204. The next thirteen minutes were the turning point of the match,
with Carey making breaks of 48 and 53 while Stewart made only 3
points. Carey built on this lead and went on to win by 181 points,
although Stewart had the satisfaction of making a 59 break late in the
match. Results : Semi-finals (2 hours) Wayne Carey 702; Ron Milicich 304.
Merv Stewart 445; Ray Habgood 339. Final (2 hours) Wayne Carey 525;
Merv Stewart 344.

New Zealand Billiards Open

The New Zealand Open attracted 18 players from throughout the North
Island, and was held at the Hamilton Cosmopolitan Club, Hamilton, over
3 days starting Friday 1st October. The event resulted in a victory for
Wayne Carey who beat Darcy Boyce of Otorohanga 982-571 in the three-
hour final to retain the title he won last year. Carey also had the highest
break of the tournament, a 115 scored in group qualification stages. He
has now won the last 12 New Zealand tournaments he has entered.
In his semi-final match, Wayne Carey repeated his recent victory over
Merv Stewart by a comfortable margin of 285 points. The other semi-
final, between Darcy Boyce and Derek Gibb, was close until Boyce
scored a break of exactly 100. He then started making greater use of
defensive play. Gibb, who had missed the previous tournament due to
an extended stay in England following the IBSF Championships, was
unable to close the gap and lost by 123 points.

In the final, Carey made the first significant contribution with a 97 (9
minutes 50 seconds) to establish a 100 point lead, which he had extended
to 180 at the interval. During the break, Carey accidentally potted
Boyce’s ball in taking the score to 52. He then made 14 hazards to go
to 94. For his fifteenth hazard, Carey attempted a six-shot by potting
the red off the centre spot into the left baulk pocket and going in-off
into the left middle pocket. He got the in-off but missed the pot, the red
wobbling in the jaws, to leave Carey three short of his fourth century
of the tournament. About 15 minutes before the end of the session,
Boyce made some comments about the run of the balls and this resulted
in exchanges between the players as each were playing their strokes.
The exchanges appeared to break the concentration of Carey and he
finished the session with an average of 17.6.

With Boyce unable to respond, it became a question of whether Carey
would reach 1000 points before the end of the match. He did not,
failing by 18 points, the final score being 982 (av 15.3) – 571 (8.8).
After the event, Boyce said he had planned to announce his retirement,
but because of his success at this tournament he has decided to continue
playing billiards. Results : Semi-finals (2 hours) Wayne Carey 600; Merv
Stewart 315. Darcy Boyce 512; Derek Gibb 389. Final (3 hours) Wayne Carey
982; Darcy Boyce 571.

New Zealand Rankings

After making a clean sweep of all the tournaments this year, Wayne
Carey finished some distance ahead of his nearest rival in the New
Zealand ranking list. The final positions and the points earned, are as
follows : 1 Wayne Carey (Auckland) 4060; 2 Derek Gibb (Capital City)
2677; 3 Darcy Boyce (Waikato) 1945; 4 Merv Stewart (Auckland) 1787; 5
Tony Stephens (Hawkes Bay) 1595; 6 Ron Milicich (Auckland) 1428; 7 Gary
Oliver (Canterbury) 1390; 8 Peter de Groot (Canterbury) 1004; 9 Joe Ifa
(Waikato) and Ray Habgood (North Harbour) 808; 11 Rob Elvin (Bay of
Plenty) 709; 12 Ray Reid (Hawkes Bay) 684; 13 Malcolm Cooke (Capital
City) 682; 14 Colin Taylor (Bay of Plenty) 626; 15 Warren Burke (Capital
City) 469; 16 John Keatley (Counties) 450; 17 Gerry Wake (Bay of Plenty)
415; 18 Peter Stephen (Hawkes Bay) 414; 19 Byron Brooke (Hawkes Bay)
363; 20 Paul Wereta (Canterbury) 342;

Source : Philip Sharp.

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.