English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : May 2000

The Amateur Billiard Player : May 2000


The Pocket Snooker Club, Kidderminster

Sunday 16th January 2000

The closing stages of the County Team Championship were played on Sunday 16th January at Pocket Snooker Club, Kidderminster.

The format involved each of the three-man team playing one hour
games with aggregate scores to determine the winner. Two pairings
played simultaneously, followed by the third pairing.
Norfolk ‘A’ and Devon were weakened by the absence of Foss Wilson
and John O’Neil respectively, their places were taken by Clive Scott
and Bob Gold.

Cleveland Team Photo (13k)

John Smith, proprietor of the Pocket Snooker Club, presents the
‘County Cup’ to the winning Cleveland team
(L-R) John Smith, Darren Kell, Lee Lagan and Mark Hatton

Cleveland came to the event as reigning champions and determined to
remain the only team to have won the event since it was reinstated by
the EABA last year. Paul Bennett’s move to the professional ranks
created a vacancy which was filled by Paul’s team-mate at the
Hemlington club, Mark Hatton. He proved to be an excellent substitute
as he despatched Devon’s Bob Gold in the semi-finals with a winning
margin of exactly 200 points. With Darren Kell also winning
comfortably Lee Lagan was under no pressure in the final game, but
still looked impressive as he cruised to an easy victory which included
two century breaks.

Yorkshire’s match against Norfolk “A” was an altogether closer affair
with the first two games being shared. Gary Rogers was well beaten by
Phillip Welham although Stephen Crosland kept Yorkshire in the hunt
by a good win over David Nichols. Even so, Richard Lodge started the
last game against Clive Scott 118 points behind on aggregate. Scott’s
tactics of defending this advantage were almost successful, but with
time running out Lodge put together a run of 47 at his final scoring
visit to give Yorkshire a narrow victory by just 8 points!
In the final, Yorkshire started well, with both Lodge and Rogers
producing creditable victories. This gave Stephen Crosland a massive
163 point advantage going into the last game against Lee Lagan.
However, this advantage was quickly reversed as Lagan swept into the
lead with a wonderful break of 242. This was followed by additional
runs of 101, 105, 83 and 67 as Crosland was overwhelmed by the
quality of Lagan’s billiards. The performance ensured that Cleveland
were crowned champions for the second year running, taking the
“County Cup” back to Teesside together with the £200 first prize.

Yorkshire collected a consolation £150 as runners-up. In the play-off
for 3rd and 4th place, Devon produced a good performance to overcome
Norfolk ‘A’ which included a notable victory by Robert Marshall over
Phillip Welham.

Mark Hatton
336 Bob Gold
Darren Kell
77, 70
328 Bill Andress
Lee Lagan
158, 104, 67
475 Robert Marshall
1139 618 
YorkshireNorfolk ‘A’
Gary Rogers
124 Phillip Welham
73, 53, 57
Stephen Crosland
376 David Nichols
Richard Lodge
268 Clive Scott
768 760 
Darren Kell
185 Gary Rogers
Mark Hatton
199 Richard Lodge
Lee Lagan
242, 101, 105, 83, 67
666 Stephen Crosland
1050 666 

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.