English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : February 2001

The Amateur Billiard Player : February 2001


Breaks SC. Lincoln – Sunday 5th November 2000

All Games One Hour

The Breaks Club in Lincoln was
the venue for the second of the
Junior Ranking Tournaments which
saw an entry of 30 players from
around the country. Robin Wilson
was making his first appearance this
season and opened his account with
an exhibition of first class billiards (at
any level), as he romped through the
competition, dominating all his
matches to win with impressive ease.
The first round saw Wilson make no
less than five breaks over fifty against
the unfortunate Anthony O’Brien,
running up a 517-128 scoreline in the
allotted 60 minutes. Matthew Sutton
was the only other player to notch

up a fifty break, his 52 helping him to overcome Robert Hall 252-159.
Wilson was again unstoppable in the second round, breaks of 88, 61,
53, 50 and 47 giving Craig Brown no chance as he registered a 476-142
victory. The only other player to pass the 400 mark was Michael
Donnelly, who recorded a similarly one-sided result against Calvin
Daws. His 432-166 score including breaks of 54, 48, 33 and 31.

Photo of Robin Wilson (4k)

Robin Wilson turns on the style to
win at Lincoln.

Matthew Sutton also impressed as he ran in breaks of 85, 43 and 39 in
his win over Andrew Fairley. Mark Coates almost managed to pull off
a “shock” result, but fell 14 points short of defeating of the current
under-16 champion, Peter Gamblin. A good performance nevertheless.
The quarter-finals saw Gamblin face Robin Wilson, but he could provide
no more resistance than any of Wilson’s previous opponents as the
Teessider almost put together the first century of the day, just failing at
99. The result however, was never in doubt as Wilson ran out a 418-
173 winner. Michael Donnelly also had an impressive win over the
improving Jason Robinson, a 77 break being the highlight of his 349-
251 victory. Darren Clark and Billy Bousfield made it an all-Teesside
semi-final when they defeated Matthew Sutton and Daniel Beagrie
respectively. Clark’s hard-fought win included runs of 47 and 44.

Darren Clark had another hard match in his semi-final against Billy
Bousfield who has been making an impression on the senior circuit this
year. With steady consistent scoring from both players, it was Bousfield
who proved just the stronger, wining by a 35 point margin. Michael
Donnelly´s good run came to an abrupt end as he could find no answer
to the scoring power of Robin Wilson. The current under-19 Champion
produced a magical display with two centuries (115 and 102) and no
less than five others over fifty in a one-hour total of 618!

Without resorting to any of the fireworks he was producing in earlier
rounds, Robin Wilson then completed a highly successful day by
defeating Billy Bousfield 381-274 in the final. Although beaten by 107
points, Bousfield could take the consolation that he had finished closer
to Wilson than any of his other opponents on the day.

First Round
Peter Gamblin 356, Neil Hall 112; Craig Brown 384, Darren Noble 347; Robin
Wilson (80, 67, 66, 54, 33, 31, 74unf) 517, Anthony O Brien 128; Jason Robinson 333, Jason
Thomas 170; Paul Gifford 281, Marc Gofton 129; Calvin Daws 217, Nathan Mann 146; Michael
Donnelly (35, 34) 327, Jeff Henderson 225; John Hall 250, James Edwards 195; Darren Clark
(45) 331, Dominic Mulhall 206; Matthew Sutton (52) 252, Robert Hall 159; Andrew Fairley (41)
289, Dean Richardson (33) 269; Gavin Lewis (33) 250, Graham Palmer 186; Phil Dales 218, Liam
O’Neil 210; Daniel Beagrie (31) 298, Matthew Peaker 218.
Second Round
Peter Gamblin 250, Mark Coates 236; Robin Wilson (88, 61, 53, 50, 47) 476,
Craig Brown 142; Jason Robinson 308, Paul Gifford 266; Michael Donnelly (54, 48, 33, 31) 432,
Calvin Daws 166; Darren Clark (37, 34) 340, John Hall (37) 287; Matthew Sutton (85, 43, 39) 388,
Andrew Fairley 116; Billy Bousfield (36, 31) 249, Gavin Lewis 196; Daniel Beagrie 352, Phil
Dales 243.
Quarter Finals
Robin Wilson (99, 39, 35) 418, Peter Gamblin 173; Michael Donnelly (77, 36,
33) 349, Jason Robinson 251; Darren Clark (47, 44) 267, Matthew Sutton 213; Billy Bousfield
274, Daniel Beagrie 213.
Semi Finals
Robin Wilson (115, 102, 76, 62, 54, 52) 618, Michael Donnelly 140; Billy Bousfield
280, Darren Clark 245.
Robin Wilson (65, 42, 39) 381, Billy Bousfield 274.

Matthew Peaker took the Plate competition, defeating Jeff Henderson
122-116 in the 30 minute final. In the quarter-final of this event, Anthony
O’Brien and Nathan Mann finished level at the end of their allotted time
and needed to play an extra 10 minutes. This resulted in O’Brien edging
home by just 5 points, only to become one of Peaker’s victims in the

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.