English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : Winter 2002

The Amateur Billiard Player : Winter 2002


Whitworth Institute, Darley Dale

Sunday 24th November 2002
All games 50 minutes

With the “Big Two” of Mike Russell and Peter Gilchrist away on
overseas duties some people may have thought that the Whitworth
Invitation would be somewhat devalued. But nothing could have been
further from the truth. The quartet of Chris Shutt, David Causier, Paul
Bennett and Lee Lagan, provided the full house with a feast of billiards
of the highest order.

In the opening game Chris Shutt laid the foundations of things to come,
notching up breaks of 147 and 231 to come home a comfortable winner
over Paul Bennett. The next match saw David Causier make his mark
with runs of 51, 109 and 186 to outplay Lee Lagan by 488 to 139.

Lagan’s best contribution was a useful 93, breaking down when a “ton”
seemed certain. The last match of the afternoon session saw Bennett
get in early with an excellent 119 against Lagan, only to see his opponent’s
white fall and prematurely halt further scoring. Lagan then took control
with runs of 50, 139, 65 and 93 to secure a 429-198 victory.

The first game of the evening between Shutt and Causier was as dramatic
as it was entertaining, with the lead constantly changing between them.

Shutt not only could have, but should have won, if he had not broken
down on two pot reds, which for him were good chances. His breaks of
44 and 41 were followed with a magnificent 272. Causier, albeit having
a couple of useful flukes, stuck to his task, notching up 75, 167 and 88
to record a narrow win by 29 points.

Photo of David Causier (4k)

David Causier was undefeated in his three matches to win the invitation billiards tournament at Darley Dale.

Bennett, who had no luck all day, ran up a 67 in game five, but by now
Causier was rampant and with breaks of 56, 138, 54, 92 and 125 won
the match comfortably, and with it the tournament.

Although the last game between Shutt and Lagan was now academic,
pride was still at stake, resulting in another see-saw battle. Although
Shutt had runs of 44, 49, 77 and 121, Lagan was far from daunted,
producing 55, 99, 42, 80 and 72 for his own account and winning by 47

This match concluded an
excellent day’s entertainment
and Jim McCann then made
presentations to the referees
George Goddard, Ray Gauton
and Colin Pattimore, and to
the recorders, Steve Crosland
and Bob Slee. Town Mayor,
Lewis Jackson, presented
cheques to the players, plus
the Norman Dagley Trophy
to Chris Shutt for the highest
break of 272. David Causier
received the Royal Bank of
Scotland Trophy having
emerged with an unbeaten
record. Sincere thanks were
given to T. E. Nutt & Sons for
their kind sponsorship and to local enthusiast Peter Nicholls, who
provided the cheque for the highest break.

Jim McCann
Chris Shutt

231, 147
491 Paul Bennett

David Causier

186, 109, 51
488 Lee Lagan

Lee Lagan

139, 92, 65, 50
429 Paul Bennett

David Causier

167, 88, 75
388 Chris Shutt

David Causier

138, 125, 92, 56, 54
533 Paul Bennett

Lee Lagan

99, 80, 72, 55
406 Chris Shutt

121, 77

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.